AIADMK S Valarmathi Leading in Srirangam

The ruling AIADMK in Tamil Nadu established a clear lead in the Srirangam assembly byelection, as counting progressed on Monday.

AIADMK candidate S Valarmathi was ahead of her nearest rival N Anand of the DMK by 19,987 votes at the end of the fifth round of counting. Valarmathi secured 32,066 votes while Anand got 12,079 votes.

M Subramaniam of the BJP and K Annadurai of the CPM got 890 and 311 votes respectively. As many as 358 voters used the none of the above (NOTA) option.

Independent candidate K R Ramaswamy (Traffic Ramaswamy) got 225 votes.

AIADMK S Valarmathi Leading in Srirangam

AIADMK cadres began celebrations as Valarmathi established a clear lead over her rivals. They burst crackers and danced.

The counting of votes began at Saranathan Engineering College in Panjappur at 8.00am.

The byelection was held on Friday, and there were 29 candidates in the fray.

The constituency fell vacant after AIADMK chief and former chief minister J Jayalalithaa was disqualified as an MLA when a special court in Bengaluru convicted her in a disproportionate assets case on September 27 last year.

Courtesy: Times of India

Subscribe for Updates:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top