Narayanasamy is Pondicherry Chief Minister

Former central minister N. Narayanasamy is becoming the Chief Minister of Pondicherry. Assembly elections for Tamil Nadu and Puducherry (Pondicherry) was held on May 16, 2016. Results were announced on May 19 in which AIADMK & Congress alliance have won in Tamil Nadu and Pondicherry respectively. On May 23rd, Jayalalithaa has sworn in as Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu while in Pondicherry the decision to choose CM candidate among Congress party was dragging.

NR Congress leader N.Rangasamy was the Chief Minister for Puducherry until he lost in this election. Following his defeat, he had resigned from Chief Minister’s post soon after the election results were declared. NR Congress won 8 MLA seats while Congress won 15 MLA seats and it’s alliance party DMK won 2 constituencies.

Puducherry Chief Minister

While INC (Indian National Congress) has to come up with its Chief Ministerial candidate, the confusion between the party MLAs kept the issue undecided about the CM.

After the party meeting, AICC General Secretary V. Narayanasamy has staked claim for the chief minister’s post in Puducherry. Narayanasamy’s move has caused more confusion and complication in Congress which remains still undecided on government formation in the union territory. Although Narayanasamy did not contest the polls, he has claimed that he enjoys the support of a majority of MLAs. Others argue that he has the support of five Congress MLAs only.

Subscribe for Updates:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top