WTA Championship begins today

The popular Women Tennis Association Championships begins today in Istanbul. The Tennis council has brought the top eight players in the tennis and round robin play has been begun in Istanbul.

Serena Williams

Top ranker and current champion Serena Williams and other top players are participating in the competition.

The top eight players are divided into two group each 4 players. One group consists of Serena Williams, Petra Kvitova, Agnieszka Radwanska and Angelique Kerber and the other group consists of Victoria Azarenka, Li Na, Sara Errani and Jelena Jankovic. The top two finishers from each group advance to the semifinals.

Maria Sharapove of Russia who is a Third ranker could not participate in the competition due to shoulder injury. Therefore, ninth rank holder Angelique Kerber of Germany got a chance to play.

Subscribe for Updates:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top